Sketchup – All In With Layers

Screen shot 2015-03-15 at 8.23.28 AM

I discovered Layers in Sketchup.  I know, woohoo, right?  But I feel so much better – now, Layers is something I can understand without trying too hard.  Because: Photoshop.  Plus, I thought about the structure a little, and figured I could make it a little more slick by using angle instead of channel.  Oh right.  You probably don’t know what I’m talking about – I posted that on another blog.  Here, you can catch up here, if you want.

So I started on my base layer drawing that frame above.  See the Layers box?

Clicky click and I get my wheel brackets.

Screen shot 2015-03-15 at 8.23.44 AM

Click again, and the wheels appear.

Screen shot 2015-03-15 at 8.24.11 AM

And last, the brake.

Screen shot 2015-03-15 at 8.24.26 AM

The wheels, bracket, brake and spring are all saved as “Components”.  I made the wheels, bracket and brake, and pulled the spring off the “Component Warehouse”.

SuperTango makes a good point in the comments, and a great video showing how to work with layers is here:

Simple enough, though.

  1. Work on Layer 0
  2. Create new Layer, name it.
  3. Select work on Layer 0 and make it a Group.
  4. Move the selected Group to the new Layer using the Layer Palette.

…and go back to Layer 0 to start work on another Layer.

3 responses to “Sketchup – All In With Layers

  1. Just remember to only draw stuff on Layer 0. Only use your layers for grouping stuff for visibilty. This was something that took me a bit to grok, but it gets super weird if you draw on various layers and then turn those layers on and off (like the edges will disappear, but not the faces, or vice versa).

    • Thanks – I’ve got to admit I was a little confused by that instruction, but I just added a video that makes it very clear, and outlines the steps of Layers.

Comments?

