Curvy Stuff in Sketchup

Screen shot 2015-03-13 at 6.41.00 PM

Today I made this.

I am posting how I did it, not because I want to Help Humanity in it’s Quest for Sketchup Knowledge, (ketchup knowledge?) but because I know in about a week I’m going to forget how I did it.

So.  Start with a circle. Draw a line with the pencil tool on one of the axis.

Screen shot 2015-03-13 at 6.47.51 PM

Then with the arc tool, peg the top and bottom of the line, and pull an arc out.

Screen shot 2015-03-13 at 6.48.13 PM

Use the Select tool to select the bottom circle.

Screen shot 2015-03-13 at 6.48.57 PM

Now, with the Follow Me tool selected, click on the arc section.  You get this:

Screen shot 2015-03-13 at 6.49.17 PM

Mess around with the Push-Pull tool, and Bob’s your uncle.

Screen shot 2015-03-13 at 6.49.57 PM

One response to “Curvy Stuff in Sketchup

Comments?

