Super Secret Magic Awesome Cables (and Connectors)

Screen shot 2014-03-14 at 6.21.34 AM

It seems like a common question come up about cabling.  Where to get it, what to use, how big, like that.  I’ve now bought cable from every source from a Solar supplier to a welding supply site on down to a local electronics supply store.  This stuff, above, is by far the coolest.

On size, I’ve used both 4AWG and 2AWG, and I can’t say that you really need the bigger 2AWG stuff, but it looks really cool to have these big manky cables.  If you’re using welding cable, though, it’s going to be stiff, so you may want to stick with the smaller 4AWG.  The cables I use, though, are audio “0xygen free” cables, and are supremely flexible.  And awesome.

I get them from eBay.  Here’s one description: “2 Gauge 25′ RED and 25′ Black Car Audio Power Ground Wire Cable Feet AWG“.  I end up doing a search every time I look for them, and this photo is from this listing, but I’m not sure how long that will be live so I’m just going to give you a screenshot.

Screen shot 2014-03-14 at 6.27.38 AM

You shouldn’t spend more than a little over $1/foot for this stuff, and on eBay naturally you’ll see a huge range of pricing.  I’d also buy a crap-ton more than what you think you need because it’s cheap, it’s nice to have on-hand, and it’s a lot easier and faster to do things right if you can make up a cable quickly.

While I’m at it, I buy the Anderson connectors in bulk on eBay too.  Do a search for “Anderson SB175” and you’ll get plenty of suppliers.  You should look at paying about $5 each for those, give or take.  I usually buy them in lots of 10.

Screen shot 2014-03-14 at 7.12.31 AM

One response to “Super Secret Magic Awesome Cables (and Connectors)

  1. Pingback: Picking Your Wire Sizes (New Word: Resistivity) | The Electric Chronicles·

Comments?

