Brazing Update

OK, I did pick up one of those little Bernzomatic Oxy-Mapp gas torches, and yes, I did do a post on it here, in case you missed it.  I intended to put a more elaborate brazing braze/welding video together but honestly?  I’m having way too much fun brazing everything I can find.  Here’s the main reason I got it, the stop light switch bracket:

542042_10200441719145042_1791803178_n

 

…worked like a champ.  The only thing was that I underestimated how much heat the frame would suck up and had to hit it again, a little harder, to get a nice bead.  Here’s another little bracket that kind of cracked me up:

392976_10200441719225044_1430955650_n

 

I was killing myself trying to figure out a way to put a bracket together to hold the horn on a cross brace on the frame.  I really didn’t want to braze to the frame because of all the stuff I’d have to take off to get at it.  I didn’t want to drill and tap either, and the clamp I threw together didn’t hold.  I was all ready to take a Guinness break, when it dawned on me I could braze it together and be done with it.  It took about 2 minutes, holds like a rock, and doesn’t look too much like a mouse job.

I was using my wife’s pasta machine and broke this antique cast iron clamp.  Took it out to the shop, cleaned it up, and popped it back together with a neat little bead from the NS3 rod, which does claim to be OK to use on cast iron.  Looking for more stuff to practice on, I started playing with kickstand ideas, and came up with this prototype:

Screen shot 2013-01-20 at 11.53.16 AM

…this is the foot only, the top is a little to ugly to show off right yet.

So yeah.  Is it worth the $60?  ummmm, ya think?  Does it make me want to weld and braze everything in sight?  um, YUS!  Is it a “Gateway Tool” to the hardcore stuff?  I suspect so…

Seriously, simply having the tool on hand, giving me the ability to braze-weld literally on a whim makes a huge difference in how I’m approaching the parts and design I have left on the bike.  No longer are brackets and parts a “workaround”.  I can do it right.

I also have to share a little discovery – it’s an oxygen tank that’s 50% bigger than the small ones, yet the same $10 price.  Strangely, they’re not listed on the Bernzomatic site.  It’s a 2.1oz capacity, vs. the 1.4oz of the small one.  Here’s one listing on eBay.

When I get a little better at the skill and/or run out of things to braze, maybe I’ll do another video.  Next project?  The scooter motor mount, I reckon.

6 responses to “Brazing Update

    • Well, thin sheet is really where brazing shines. It’s a very common method for auto body work, especially repairing rust holes up here in New England. It has the advantage of not heating up the metal as much, and it’s supposedly less apt to rust as a result.

      What thickness are you talking about? I’d be happy to try it out.

  1. I’m looking to use brazing on my new seat pan. I started with 26 gauge but I just couldn’t keep from burning holes with my MIG. I’m working now with 16 gauge and that has held up well with the MIG, but my metal shaping skills are still very beginner and the thinner stuff is a hell of a lot easier to work with.

    So, to answer your question, if you get a change to try 26 gauge I’d really appreciate it.

Comments?

