Zachary Rubin and the Awesome Battery Roundup

I like when data is put together into a huge spreadsheet.  I like it even better when it’s made into an awesome graphic that even I can get my head around. The Best is when someone else does it.  ‘Cause most of the time I don’t even know how, but when I do, I don’t actually get off my ass and do it.

Here, my friends, is the Awesome Battery Roundup by Zach Rubin.  He posted it on ElMoto, here, and also on his blog, here.  (link to come)

That awesome graphic I mentioned?  …c’est ici:

From his blog (with his permissh):

You can download the source here. To use it you will need Processing. Download the spreadhseet (linked above) as a CSV, make sure it is named battData.csv and is located in the data folder. There is a “Compare in vis” column in which you select 6 batteries to compare.
 
There are two things that are potentially misleading.
1) every manafacturer seems to want to rate their batterie’s Ah capacity at different discharge rate. As 1c is closer to reality in an EV application, I’m considering editing the table to use approximated 1c capacities, as opposed to the advertised number. Such guestimations i think would still be more accurate than strictly following the advertised numbers.
2) As the batteries are directly contrasted with one another a value may seem low, while in reality it is quite adequate. For example Headway cells seem to have a rather low constant current and pulse discharge rate, however 5c/10c is plenty for most applications. It only seems low because it is on the same scale as the Turnigy and A123 monsters. I still think the data is relevant as it tells you how close to tolerance you would be operating.

if anyone here has any bright ideas, im all ears

Conclusion: As I suspected (and im sure many of you here already know) Turnigy Lipos pretty much clean up.
Very impressed with whats available now, compared to when i first did the conversion in ’09. I just need to figure out how to keep those RC batteries well balanced and make sure they don’t explode. you know, the details xD

Also does anyone know of a supplier for the 10s Hyperion cells; I couldn’t find one so they are not in the spreadsheet.

and, thanks Athlon for posting this link:
http://mabula.tangram.dnsalias.net/battcomp/cell_info

One response to “Zachary Rubin and the Awesome Battery Roundup

Comments?

