Review: Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 6- Component Matrix

Here you go, a quick matrix of the pieces and parts:

Manzanita MK3 BMS and System
Component Enabling Features Components Required/Enabled Benefits Price
BMS Board Real-time voltage monitoring Standalone, or with any or all: SOC Head, RDB, DTB, Software Full function BMS core $220/8 cell
Real-time cell temperature monitoring
Alarm displays
Real-time heatsink monitoring
Connectivity to readout/programming interfaces
Real-time cell balancing
SOC Head Battery pack SOC data Standalone, or with BMS, RDB, Software Pack data, full PC interface allowing data logging $450
Connectivity to PC
Data logging with PC
Rudman Display Bus (RDB) Cell-level SOC display BMS required for basic function, or add-on to SOC On-dash readout, ehnanced warnings, programming capabilities $300
SOC readout for pack (w/SOC Head)
Session history
One-glance, one-screen of up to 99 cells
Total cell readout- 254 cells
BMS programming
Dongle Terminator Box Allows PC (USB) interface BMS, SOC Head required PC connectivity $120
MK3 RegScanner Software Complete programming/monitoring of cell/pack performance and condition. WIN PC and SOC Head or RDB Enables cell/pack logging history, enhanced programming and reporting Free D/L

So OK, here’s how that goes together.  Say you want to run a pack of Headways, oh, at around 72V with around 30aH.  That would go together with a basic array of 24 of the 16aH cells in parallel (gets you to what, 76.8V nominal?) and two of those in series, to get to 32aH.

We’d start by building an 8-cell BMS.  I want everything…  I want the RDB for my dash, I want the full board, I want to program the thing with my PC, so I need one of each.  I plug it all together, and I get a full-feature BMS for my 8 cells.  Now, I want to add more cells.  From there, I just add more boards.  All the other components can handle up to what was it?  254 cells?  So…  I pick up 5 more boards, tie them down, connect them to the cells, and daisy-chain the RJ connections.  I can see the bar graphs for each of the 48 cells on one screen of the display on my graph. One board, one SOC Head, one display, one dongle, and 6 boards and I’m in business.

Let’s say I’m on a bit of a budget and don’t want to go whole hog on it.  I want my cells balanced, so I get the BMS, and I want a dash display, so I get the RDB.  Again, one display, 6 BMS boards, and I’m good.  At any time later on, if I decide I want to add features, (and my wife decides I’ve been a Good Boy), I go pick up additional components and plug them in.

Read more:
Review: Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 1
Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 2- Intro and Documentation
Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 3- The Display
Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 4- The Board
Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 5- the SOC Head
Manzanita MK3 BMS, Part 6- Component Matrix
Manzanita MK3 BMS- Conclusions

Manzanita Micro site here.

Comments?

