R5, RD250, RD350, RD400 Swingarm Bushing Press

I’ve had a few questions about my “press” for seating the bronze swingarm bushings, well, here it is (with the original nylon bushings in the background).

I tried a few of my standard tricks- freezing the bushings and heating the swingarm, using pipe clamps to drive them in…  nuthin.  I decided, before I packed up my stuff and headed over to my buddy’s shop to use his arbor press, I’d try this one last thing- a big, huge bolt.  This is an 11″ 5/8 bolt with some nice grease on the threads and some very large fender washers.  It worked like a champ.

One of the slick things about it, that not even an arbor press will do, is that it self-centered the work.  Even without the bushings started in the hole, with the bearings in place it would have driven the bushings in perfectly aligned.  Sweetness!

All for $5.35…

Please note.  Do NOT use the BFH* for this job.  You WILL make junk of the entire thing.  I assure you.

*Big F%^kin’ Hammer

One response to “R5, RD250, RD350, RD400 Swingarm Bushing Press

Comments?

