Inside a Hub Motor

This is the guts of a 16″ 750W brushless hub motor from an X-Treme scooter that I’m pulling apart to see if I can get it rolling again.  The motor first chattered, with little or no power, then stopped altogether.  I was thinking the Hall sensors got cooked when the wires feeding into the axle got mashed, since I was told the frayed wires were repaired but once I got it opened up I saw that some wires were bare, and shorting to the axle.

The first order of business will be to repair the wires.  After that, I think I should test the Hall sensors to figure out if they are indeed fried, or if it was just the wiring.  In any case, it should be pretty straighforward, and a chance to beef up the input wiring a bit.

This is the rim, and the magnets around the inner hub, which is the outer ring of the motor itself.  Here is a closeup of the magnets.

Here’s the inside with the windings.  you can see the Hall sensors in the upper right.

The Hall assembly, and the hold-downs:

A detail of the Hall sensors:

Finally the back side showing the cabling snaking through the axle, then through the rotor to the sensor side:

8 responses to “Inside a Hub Motor

  1. Hi!
    I just got a 1500W 72 V scooter from China, and after the test drive when i emptied the battery, the motor stopped. I changed all the fuses, ordered a new controller, but I cant find the problem. When I twist the throttle, the motor ckliks slightly and this is it. What do you think could be the problem?

  2. Hi!
    I just got a 150W 12V scooter from Afghanistan, and it never worked.
    I’ve replaced everything but I cant find the problem.

    When I twist the throttle, the motor squeaks and this is it. What do you think could be the problem?

  3. Do you have any photo’s showing how the axel is installed because I want to know how it comes out so I can switch the side the wiring goes in

  4. where could i get a (800watts 48volts motor’s) 43af sensor?
    or are there any replacements for them……..

    Please help…..
    Thanks in advance..

Comments?

