the “recycle” angle…

Oh wow, what a bad pun…  but the fact is, converting a rolling chassis is keeping a pile of crap out of the landfill.  In general, you want to pick up a bike that has a title and a blown motor.  If you’re made of money, you could buy a new or good working bike and strip the motor out and resell it.  The bike I bought was an ’84 Honda with over 135,000 miles on it and a blown motor.  The thing went an unreasonably long time before blowing up- I’ve never heard of a bike with that many miles on it- but still, it was headed for the junkyard.

I pulled a whole bunch of stuff off it and sold it as parts- going to help keeping other bikes out of the junkyard as well- and the only thing I had left that I couldn’t sell was the block.  The way I figure it, I kept about 150lbs of steel from becoming trash.

I bought many of the parts used, or salvage.  The gauges were all from eBay, off bikes being parted out.  Most of the aluminum and steel was scrap from other projects.  The motor, controller, contactor and the first set of batteries were bought used.  I’d say about 5% of the entire build was new parts.

Now, I’m sure economists reading this don’t think much of the strategy, but the fact is, endless consumption, not reuse and recycling, is what got us to this place in the first place…


Comments?

